Justice Marquez is Given Send-off by OCA

November 22, 2021

Justice Jose Midas P. Marquez is given a simple yet heartwarming send-off by the Office of the Court Administrator (OCA) at the Supreme Court grounds in Padre Faura, Ermita, Manila this morning.

“After 30 years working here in the Supreme Court, I get my appointment as an Associate Justice….It was not easy

but I’m sure, it would have been much more difficult if it were not for all of you. You made my life as Court Administrator much easier,” Justice Marquez said as he thanked the OCA people who gathered at the SC grounds wearing blue and holding blue and white balloons (which match the color of the OCA seal of blue and white), while observing the health protocols such as wearing masks and the required physical distancing. He encouraged them to support whoever will replace him as Court Administrator.

Justice Marquez has been at the helm of the OCA for 11 years prior to his appointment as 192nd Associate Justice of the Supreme Court. He took his oath as SC justice before Chief Justice Alexander G. Gesmundo on November 16, 2021. His appointment completes the 15- member roster of the SC.

A homegrown SC Justice, Justice Marquez began his career in the SC in February 1991 as an apprentice in the Office of Associate Justice Abraham F. Sarmiento. He then rose from the ranks, serving as Executive Assistant IV, Court Attorney VI, and Deputy Secretary at the Office of the Chair  of the Senate Electoral Tribunal, a position he held until December 2006. He also served as Chief Justice Reynato S. Puno’s Chief of Staff from December 2006 to May 2010 and was once concurrently the Court Administrator, Spokesperson of the Supreme Court and Chief of its Public Information Office (PIO), and Chief of Staff of the Office of Chief Justice Reynato S. Puno. Born on February 16, 1966, Justice Marquez was admitted as a member of the Philippine Bar in March 1994. He obtained his Bachelor of Arts degree in Economics in 1987 and Juris Doctor degree in 1993, both from the Ateneo de Manila University. (Courtesy of the SC Public Information Office)