Two CA Justices are New Supreme Court Justices

December 4, 2019

Court of Appeals Justices Mario V. Lopez and Edgardo L. Delos Santos were named Supreme Court Justices by President Duterte.

Justice Lopez was the Chairperson of the CA’s 12th Division in Manila upon his appointment to the SC. Graduating cum laude from San Beda College of Law, Justice Lopez first joined the public service as technical assistant in the SC (1981-1983) before working as Hearing Officer in the Supervision and Examination Sector of the Central Bank of the Philippines (1983-1985). 

He later served as Special Prosecution Officer in the Office of the Ombudsman until his appointment as Regional Trial Court (RTC) Judge of Batangas City in 1994. In 2005, he was recipient of the Chief Justice Ramon Avanceña Award as Outstanding RTC Judge of the Philippines and the Best Decision in a Civil Case in Second Level Courts award.

An examiner in Criminal Law for the 2009 Bar Examinations, he also taught in various universities including the University of Asia and the Pacific, Arellano University, and his alma mater. He joined the appellate court in 2006.

Justice Delos Santos was the Executive Justice of CA Cebu upon his appointment to the SC. He earned his law degree from the University of San Carlos in Cebu City.

He joined the Judiciary as Court Legal Researcher at Branch 39 of the then Court of First Instance (now RTC) in 1978. The following year, he served as Technical Assistant and, later, as Confidential Attorney of then SC Associate Justice (and later Chief Justice) Felix V. Makasiar.

In 1983, he was appointed as Municipal Trial Court (MTC) Judge of Siaton, Negros Oriental. In 1987, he was appointed Municipal Trial Court in Cities (MTCC) Judge of Dumaguete and became its First Executive Judge. In 1993, he was appointed as RTC Judge of Branch 45 in Bacolod City – designated as Special Drugs Court. He was recipient of the Supreme Court En Banc Congratulatory Resolution, being the Novel Decision Awardee of the 1st Gender Justice Award in 2004. He was appointed CA Justice in 2008. ###